New to Forum; New to Florida!!

You're on Page 1 of 3
Go to

• Hi My name is Leace. I am new to this Fourm, and new to Florida. To introduce myself, I am a single mom with 2 DD's. They are 17 and 11. I live in Pinellas County, in Clearwater Florida. We like it here so far. The girls really like it although it is hard to "start over".

Anyone have any idea's for "cheap" ways to have fun on the weekends with the girls?? It seems like all my friends up north seem to think we are laying under a palm tree all the time! Either that or hanging out at Disney every weekend!!!

I do like this forum and the craft ideas and cooking ideas. I am not all that great of a cook, but I am working on it!!

Thanks to all of you!
  • Welcome Lease,

Clearwater is a really nice place to live. I used to visit that area when my great-grandmother was living. I know what you mean about what your friends up north think about Florida. I went to college out of state, and honest to goodness friends who came home with me were surprised that the beach didn't start at the state line! I live in the northern part of the state, and am at least an hour or more from any beaches. I don't know about now, but we used to have fun looking for shells and flying kites on the beach.

Linda121345
  • Hi Leace, and welcome. I had the opportunity this last week to be in your neck of the woods. We had driven over one of the bridges and drove north up the coast and ended up in Clearwater to cross the other bridge. Sorry can't remember the names. Anyway, what a fun place Clearwater is. I would think just being at the beach would be inexpensive fun. I am contemplating moving to the Tampa/Brandon area but really loved Clearwater.
  • Thanks for saying "hi".....