Visit FamilyCorner.com for tons of seasonal ideas!
quick link - go to our home page quick link - kid's crafts, family fun, printables, etc quick link - sign up for our free newsletter quick link - holiday crafts, recipes and ideas quick link - gardening, organizing, saving money, decorating and more quick link - our FunBook is filled with lots of quick ideas, tips and crafts quick link - join our bustling community of friendly members

Go Back   FamilyCorner.com Forums > >

Once A Month Cooking Whether you cook for a month or just double your dinners, this is the place to share ideas.

Old 06-25-2006, 07:35 AM
FamilyCorner Newbie

Hee hee a few questions, help would be great!

Ok so I am new to this, not cooking but freezing in advance. It makes me a little nervous bc I dont want to mess something up and end up throwing it out bc it wasnt good after being frozen. Make sence? Anyway I have read that egg whites turn rubbery after being frozen and reheated. But I eat egg beater omelets all the time, so do egg beaters (cooked) turn rubberey when reheated?? What about if I make a breakfast casserole with egg beaters, will it be grose? what about frozen bfast wraps.
Next, does anyone have any low calorie recipes. Today I am looking to use up 5lbs of ground beef. Im thinking meat balls, meat loaft, strog. sauce, taco casserole, ?
I already have precooked taco meat. BUT usually when I make meat balls of meat loaf, etc I add shredded zuccini or other veg. to them. Sooooo will that freeze well in it. Like if I make meatballs and do 1/2 with shredded zuc. and 1/2 with shredded apples (for sweet and sour mb's) 1lb total of beef, will it do ok?? Should I still add breadcrumbs to it if im adding the other things??
Basically I am looking on things to add to meat to cut down on a) cost and b)calories