Visit FamilyCorner.com for tons of seasonal ideas!
quick link - go to our home page quick link - kid's crafts, family fun, printables, etc quick link - sign up for our free newsletter quick link - holiday crafts, recipes and ideas quick link - gardening, organizing, saving money, decorating and more quick link - our FunBook is filled with lots of quick ideas, tips and crafts quick link - join our bustling community of friendly members

Go Back   FamilyCorner.com Forums > >

Old 06-24-2003, 04:52 AM
Nine Year Member
FamilyCorner Groupie

Self-employed hubby....

Hi there,
my husband is a self-employed contractor - which means his work is seasonal b/c we live outside of Chicago. I'm wondering how everyone else copes with the plight of the self-employed. Yes, it has it's advantages, but we never know from year to year how we're going to live. I'm not good with money anyway so it's extrememly difficult..... and to make matters worse, this year is has been very very slow for him so things are super tight right now.
Ultimately, here's my question:
For those in a similar situation: How do you budget and things when you don't have steady money?

And I really need everyone's best money-saving tips at the grocery store!

Thanks!

Signed,

Frugally Challenged

Keep your words soft and tender as you may have to eat them tomorrow!
Old 06-24-2003, 05:00 PM
Nine Year Member
FamilyCorner Groupie

Hi Laura,

I am one of the many who live with this condition too! For 21 years my DH worked for the same company and got paid every other week, like clockwork. I didn't really appreciate it at the time, but I sure would like to go back to that!