Homeschool Getting Hard! - FamilyCorner.com Forums
Visit FamilyCorner.com for tons of seasonal ideas!
quick link - go to our home page quick link - kid's crafts, family fun, printables, etc quick link - sign up for our free newsletter quick link - holiday crafts, recipes and ideas quick link - gardening, organizing, saving money, decorating and more quick link - our FunBook is filled with lots of quick ideas, tips and crafts quick link - join our bustling community of friendly members

Go Back   FamilyCorner.com Forums > >

Homeschooling Do you homeschool? Thinking about it? Join the discussion and talk to other homeschooling parents!

Old 04-13-2003, 11:07 AM
Eight Year Member
FamilyCorner Newbie

Homeschool Getting Hard!

I have 2 sons, ages 9 and 5. I have been homeschooling my oldest, Patrick, for 3 years now. He is in the 4th grade. It is getting harder and harder for me. I have used different curriculum, and this year we got Switched On Schoolhouse by Alpha Omega in math only. Pat has done so much better in Math, but I STILL have a hard time helping him in the tough areas. Math has never been my best subject, and it seems 4th graders are learning things I don't remember doing until high school! (missing numbers, etc.) Sometimes when he gets stuck and I get stuck I just have to make him wait until his dad gets home to help him... I am getting discouraged and worry that I won't be able to teach him myself much longer, but I don't want him in public school. Our 5 year old went to head start the past 2 years and I think we have decided he will go to kindergarten next year. His personality is much more boisterous than Patrick.. Pat is quiet, mellow, well behaved... Nick is a loud, energetic red head. It is impossible for me to teach Pat when Nick is home. I really don't want either one of them to go to public school... what can I do??!! We plan to get Switched On Schoolhouse in all subjects for Pat next year, we really like how it works. But oooooo that math! UGH!