Visit FamilyCorner.com for tons of seasonal ideas!
quick link - go to our home page quick link - kid's crafts, family fun, printables, etc quick link - sign up for our free newsletter quick link - holiday crafts, recipes and ideas quick link - gardening, organizing, saving money, decorating and more quick link - our FunBook is filled with lots of quick ideas, tips and crafts quick link - join our bustling community of friendly members

Go Back   FamilyCorner.com Forums > >

Homeschooling Do you homeschool? Thinking about it? Join the discussion and talk to other homeschooling parents!

Old 07-12-2005, 08:34 AM
FamilyCorner Newbie

Helping My Son With Reading

hi all this is my first time here i was wondering if anyone could help my youngest son has a hard time with reading does anyone have any suggestions on how i can help him read better thanks
Old 07-14-2005, 07:31 AM
Seven Year Member
FamilyCorner Admirer

Not sure if I'll remember to check back here soon enough for you... But how old is your son, or what grade level?

Something that worked for my daughter was doing mini unit studies with a book, atleast I think of them as unit studies. For example, we read Shiloh together and our vocabulary and spelling words were taken from that book. We also used computer skills to design a new book cover for it. When we read about Japan we did origami and made a Japanese dish for supper. We made tangram puzzles when reading some about China. Reading becomes something to look forward to if you make it more than just reading. Since then she has started to read more on her own without the extras. They aren't books that I would choose for her to read but it's her free time not school reading time anyway.
Old 07-15-2005, 04:21 PM
FamilyCorner Newbie

I was going to ask the sme thing-how old is he-