FamilyCorner.com Forums

FamilyCorner.com Forums (https://www.familycorner.com/forums/)
-   Holidays (https://www.familycorner.com/forums/holidays/)
-   -   Christmas 2010 (https://www.familycorner.com/forums/holidays/26774-christmas-2010-a.html)

mammajigglypuff 01-23-2010 08:23 PM

Christmas 2010

Okay I know it's only January 2010, but how many of you have already started thinking about Christmas.
Since I am on a very limited income and I only have a few people to buy for I decided to start putting $10-$25 a month on a Wal-Mart gift card for them. I am also "hiding" all the $1 bills I get from change and will add that to the card when I go to the store.
When you do it this way you'll be surprised at how much you can save in 12 months.
:twinkle::clause:

BuddyBeanieBaby 01-23-2010 11:15 PM

What a great idea...

I have been buying for Christmas 2010...never too early to start...

Smiles & Hugs...

mammajigglypuff 01-24-2010 05:30 AM

thanks. when your on a set income that won't go up but prices will you have to think early.
:clause:

ajrsmom 01-24-2010 10:39 AM

I think that using gift cards like that is a great idea!

I've been thinking of using my second checking acct. as a Christmas Club acct. and tucking money away. The only problem with that is that I know it's there every week when I pay bills. I don't want to be tempted to use it so I might just put cash in an envelope and tuck it away.

BuddyBeanieBaby 01-24-2010 12:35 PM

Tami I used to save all my loonies and toonies(Canadian Crazy Money...lol...not really but that is what the $1.00 & $2.00 are called here)and managed to save over $1,800.00 one year...which is pretty good for me because I love to shop on eBay...lol

Smiles & Hugs...

kathymac 01-24-2010 01:16 PM