Visit FamilyCorner.com for tons of seasonal ideas!
quick link - go to our home page quick link - kid's crafts, family fun, printables, etc quick link - sign up for our free newsletter quick link - holiday crafts, recipes and ideas quick link - gardening, organizing, saving money, decorating and more quick link - our FunBook is filled with lots of quick ideas, tips and crafts quick link - join our bustling community of friendly members

Go Back   FamilyCorner.com Forums > > >

Old 05-21-2003, 01:11 PM
FamilyCorner Newbie

Dying Lavender

I am new to growing herbs. I fell in love with the scent of lavender last year while buying my veggie plants for the garden. I bought lavender then, planted it...and it didn't do well..finally died.
This year it is doing the same.
It is in about a 4 ft. by 15 ft. flower/herb bed that is clayish, and at the bottom of a small hill. I am trying to improve the drainage, and the soil at this time. Some parts of the bed are richer than others.
I so want to have this bed FULL of lavender, but need to know what I am doing wrong.
Thanks in advance for your help
Millie
Old 05-24-2003, 08:49 AM
FamilyCorner Newbie

Zone?

What zone do you live in? Lavendar likes sun; it can handle heat and prefers somewhat dry conditions. I don't know what your rain situation is but clay and bottom of a hill might be keeping it too moist. My seems to prefer a little sandy soil. Mine is out-of-control! I live in zone 9 though (15 in the WesternGarden scale).

Last edited by sweeper42003; 05-24-2003 at 08:52 AM.
Old 05-24-2003, 08:58 AM
New Neighbor
FamilyCorner Newbie

Dying Lavender