Visit FamilyCorner.com for tons of seasonal ideas!
quick link - go to our home page quick link - kid's crafts, family fun, printables, etc quick link - sign up for our free newsletter quick link - holiday crafts, recipes and ideas quick link - gardening, organizing, saving money, decorating and more quick link - our FunBook is filled with lots of quick ideas, tips and crafts quick link - join our bustling community of friendly members

Go Back   FamilyCorner.com Forums > > >

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 07-21-2004, 05:12 AM

New Cholesterol Medicine

Hi Everyone-

I have been fighting being put on cholesterol medicine for a couple of years now but have finally had to admit defeat in trying to get it low enough on my own. I have done some intensive searches on what is out there and talked with alot of co workers who are on cholesterol medicines. I am reluctant to take any statins such as Lipitor, Crestor, Zocor, etc. because of all the bad side effects and have discussed this with my doctor.

I am also diabetic with high blood pressure.

We decided to try something new on the market, it's called Zetia. Zocor is coming out with something like this next year a combo pill to renew their patent that makes me so mad when drug companies do this to avoid it going generic!

Anyways, today is day 1 of taking this. The only known side effects is stomach ache and tiredness... not pleasant but we'll see how it goes.

Anyone else out there tried this?

Anna

Last edited by AnnaInOhio; 07-21-2004 at 05:34 AM.
Old 07-21-2004, 05:25 AM
Seven Year Member
FamilyCorner Admirer

Hi Anna, do you mean Zetia? I am taking that now along with Niaspan. It has gotten some good results for me. My dr seems pleased that this is working.
Sophie

Old 07-21-2004, 05:36 AM

Zetia

Ooops! Soddark thanks Zetia is what I meant, I went in and corrected it.

Glad to know I'm not "alone" in taking this. How long have you been taking it now?