Anyone else train in martial arts??

• Hi there

Was just wondering if anyone else on the boards takes part in Martial arts training?? If you do what form?

I started training 10 months ago. My 3 kids are very active with our local club and I was always sitting watching so I decided I may as well join in and get in shape(before I hit 40 )

Are club is karate and we are under the YKKF federation. We also train with weapons(kobudo).

I am grading next week for my yellow belt......about a 2 hour grading. It will be my 3 rd belt(white, red, yellow) My oldest ds is a junior brown belt, my second ds is a blue belt and my dd is an orange belt.
    My boys just got back from a 4 day workshop/camp in Wisconsson. It was the first time they had been to the states . My oldest is hoping to someday go to Okanawa Japn to train.

Well just thought I would see if anyone else shares are interest

debknechtel
  • I enrolled my son in American Freestyle Karate a few months ago. I actually dont have a lot of time since I have twins so finding a babysitter would be a big issue however, I would get involved with it if it wasn't for that. I like the structure and the discipline. Good Luck. There are several people young and old moms and dads that do this with their kids. I think that is commendable and gives you a common ground
  • Both my boys do GKR (Go-Kan-Ryu) karate/martial arts one longer than the other but they both really enjoy it.

I did do a different style of karate (zen du ky(?)) in my early 20's but I became pregnant and didn't go back... no idea why

Good on you for taking it up and enjoying it.
  • I was away on holidays when you posted.

Bilby do you think you would ever go back to training???

We do goju ryu style. While on holidays i actually trained with anouther club there. It was interesting to see the different styles...they were ****o ryu. I can not get over how many different styles there are!!!!