Quilting Beginner here - FamilyCorner.com Forums
Visit FamilyCorner.com for tons of seasonal ideas!
quick link - go to our home page quick link - kid's crafts, family fun, printables, etc quick link - sign up for our free newsletter quick link - holiday crafts, recipes and ideas quick link - gardening, organizing, saving money, decorating and more quick link - our FunBook is filled with lots of quick ideas, tips and crafts quick link - join our bustling community of friendly members

Go Back   FamilyCorner.com Forums >

Crafty Corner If you are creative, love to knit or crochet, paint, or just enjoy making fun stuff with your kids, this is the forum for you.

Old 03-13-2003, 04:04 AM
Nine Year Member
FamilyCorner Admirer

Question Quilting Beginner here

I am sitting here surrounded by quilting books, fabric and all the things to get started on making a quilt. I am embarressed to say that I have had all of the "equipment" for over a year, and just can't seem to get going. I don't know where to start, and what the first step is. All my life I have wanted to make a quilt!!
I think I have bought to many books now, and am very much confused. Can any one help me? I would appreciate it so very much!! Cafe
Old 03-13-2003, 02:02 PM
Nine Year Member
FamilyCorner Groupie

Hi Cafe. I'm a beginning quilter too. I don't know if you have access to a quilt shop or a JoAnn's Fabric but they usually have classes you can sign up for for anywhere from $10 to $50. So that is an idea. They have a variety of different classes to choose from and it is a good way to learn techniques. Remember that quilt making is basically cutting some cotton fabrics apart and then sewing them back together again to make a design. That is all it is.