Visit FamilyCorner.com for tons of seasonal ideas!
quick link - go to our home page quick link - kid's crafts, family fun, printables, etc quick link - sign up for our free newsletter quick link - holiday crafts, recipes and ideas quick link - gardening, organizing, saving money, decorating and more quick link - our FunBook is filled with lots of quick ideas, tips and crafts quick link - join our bustling community of friendly members

Go Back   FamilyCorner.com Forums >

Around the Kitchen Table Just want to talk about food? This is the place to sit back, grab a cup of coffee (or tea) and chat about food.

Old 02-09-2007, 12:56 PM
FamilyCorner Newbie

family dinners

Hi there,
I'm a writer with the parenting website www.kaboose.com (where Amanda is the crafts expert--she suggested I post here). I'm working on a short article about dinnertime conversations. I'd love to hear some tips on how you made your family dinnertime fun and positive. How do you help a quiet child get a word in edgewise when a chatty sibling is dominating the conversation? How do you avoid the "how was your day/it was fine" trap? What do you guys like to talk about? Why is a conversation over a family meal important to you? All that good stuff. Please drop me a line at [email protected] by Wed Feb 14. I'm happy to answer any questions too.
cheers,
Bonnie Schiedel
Old 02-12-2007, 07:05 AM
Nine Year Member
FamilyCorner Postaholic

Hi there I think family dinners are so important especially in this day and age where there are so many with 2 income famies. It is sometimes the one time you can all be together. I try and ask more specific questions so that i am more apt to get a full response from my younger children instead of "fine" I will ask what art project they worked on or who was at school today etc. With my older kids the flow is pretty easy going I just have the problem of one overpowering the other two so we all take turns so everyone gets there say.