Visit FamilyCorner.com for tons of seasonal ideas!
quick link - go to our home page quick link - kid's crafts, family fun, printables, etc quick link - sign up for our free newsletter quick link - holiday crafts, recipes and ideas quick link - gardening, organizing, saving money, decorating and more quick link - our FunBook is filled with lots of quick ideas, tips and crafts quick link - join our bustling community of friendly members

Go Back   FamilyCorner.com Forums > >

Old 08-22-2005, 04:45 PM
Nine Year Member
FamilyCorner Groupie

Room Mother

I think I just became my son's classes room mother by default. I've never done this before and have no idea what I've gotten myself into. Can anybody give me any advice, tips, etc? Thanks.
Old 08-22-2005, 09:01 PM
Nine Year Member
FamilyCorner Postaholic

Location: Originally from the Home of the only 6 times Super Bowl Champs!
When I was a room mother in Pa., we helped out with the room parties, and other events like making hot chocolate for the kids after they sang Christmas carols in the park. It was a small school so it wasnt too involved. We also went on field trips with the class and helped with classroom crafts and stuff like that if the teacher needed help.

My son's open house is tonight (Tuesday) and Im hoping to sign up to become a class volunteer and also the PTO. I'll let you know more tomorrow night.

Is there a "leader" over all of the mothers? Maybe you could ask her or last year's room mother would probably have some good tips. Ask the teacher too.

Have fun!

Visit my blogs **

Tami's Kitchen Table Talk

Simple, easy-to-cook family recipes
and lots of good conversation!

Join the Cookie Carnival!
On Hiatus

If you love baking cookies, join our group!

Old 08-23-2005, 05:58 PM
Nine Year Member
FamilyCorner Groupie