View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2002, 05:21 AM
loves2garden's Avatar
loves2garden loves2garden is offline
Member
FamilyCorner Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2
Vitamite

I was scrolling throught the posts regarding milk free cooking and noticed a post regarding Vitamite. Vitamite is advertised as dairy free, but does contain derivatives from milk products if you read the label. My son was anaphylactic to milk, and had a reaction to Viatmite. I've posted the ingredients below:
Ingredients: WATER, CORN SYRUP SOLIDS, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED CANOLA OIL, POTASSIUM CASEINATE ( A MILK DERIVATIVE), ISOLATED SOY PROTEIN, TRICALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIPOTASSIUM PHOSPHATE, SALT, CARRAGEENAN, MONO- AND DIGLYCERIDES, GUAR GUM, SODIUM STEAROYL LACTYLATE, CALCIUM D-PANTOTHENATE, VITAMIN A PALMITATE, VITAMIN D3, RIBOFLAVIN, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE, THIAMINE MONOITRATE, ANNATTO COLOR AND VITAMIN B12.

Also, one of the best sources for milk, egg, nut or wheat free, cooking is the food allergy network. They have a newsletter that comes with recipes, and also a cook book. Their website is http://www.foodallergy.org/ many of their recipies are posted on the site as well.
Reply With Quote